The second APEC Senior Officials’ Meeting (SOM2) and Related Meetings are held in Ha Noi, Viet Nam, May 9-21, 2017 under the theme of ‘creating new dynamism, fostering a shared future’. The Ministry of Research, Technology and Higher Education (MoRTHE) of Indonesia as the focal point of both APEC Policy Partnership on Science, Technology and Innovation (PPSTI) and Human Resource Development Working Group (HRDWG) participated in the Meetings that have been held on May 11-13 and May 11-14, respectively. In these series of Meetings, the host Economy initiated a High Level Policy Dialogue on Human Resources Development in the Digital Age that will be held on May 15.

Representatives from the MoRTHE who participated in these Meetings included Head of Center for Data and Information, Andika Fajar, Secretary Board of Higher Education, Widijanto Satyo Nugroho and Head of Division for Cooperation, Tri Sundari.

The tenth APEC PPSTI Meeting was attended by 15 Economies, ABAC Principal Advisor and guest from Macau, China. The Meeting took the theme of Natural Hazards Science and Policies that Support Strong Science, Technology and Innovation Ecosystems in the APEC Region. Deputy Minister for the Ministry of Science and Technology from Viet Nam, H.E. Tran Quoc Khanh opened the Meeting by welcoming all member Economies in the capital city of Viet Nam. He highlighted the importance and strategic role of APEC to create prosperity for the people of the region.

A two-days Meeting that was co-chaired by the US and PRC discussed and presented covering among others review of progress on endorsed actions from PPSTI-9, nineteen new PPSTI concept notes, newly proposed Budget and Management Committee (BMC) project process, review of independent assessment report, innovation policy sharing seminar, PPSTI communicating science policy statement and announcement by the next host Economy from Papua New Guinea.

As recommended in the independent assessment report of which Fora is strongly suggested to collaborate with other relevant Fora(s), both PPSTI and HRDWG-EDNET were jointly organized a half day meeting. It aimed to sharing ideas and see potential concept notes that can be co-sponsored by member Economies. This was the third joint meeting after APEC in Boracay, the Philippines and Lima, Peru in 2015 and 2016, respectively. Member Economies agreed to organize joint meeting in a regular basis, appoint Liaison Officer to maintain good communication and seek the possibility to have a common room in the APEC Collaboration System (ACS).

APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (ASPIRE) is an annual award which recognizes young scientists who have demonstrated a commitment to both excellence in scientific research, as evidenced by scholarly publication and cooperation with scientists from other APEC member economies. ASPIRE 2017 took the theme of New Material Technology. This interdisciplinary theme focuses on how new and advanced materials are used to drive scientific innovation. The winner of ASPIRE 2017 is Dr. Yanwu Zu from University of Science and Technology of China. He granted prize money in the amount of $ 25.000, co-sponsored by Wiley and Elsevier. (ts/kskp/5/2017)