The 8th APEC Policy Partnership on Science, Technology and Innovation (PPSTI) was held in Lima, Peru on 15-17 August 2016. There were sixteen member economies (Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Indonesia, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Russia, Chinese Taipei, Thailand, United States and Viet Nam), APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC) and two guests (Association of Pacific Rim Universities – APRU and Macau, China) attended the Meeting. PPSTI 8 took the theme of “Science, Technology and Innovation for Quality Growth”. The Meeting was chaired by Mr. Chen Linhao (China) with Ms. Karin Fassbender (Peru) and Mr. Andrew M. Hebbeler (USA) as vice-chairs and ABAC Principal Advisor Mr. Nicholas Brooke.


The Meeting was opened by the President of CONCYTEC, Ms. Gisella Orjeda. In her opening remarks, she re-emphasized the Strategic Plan 2025 about the importance way to improve quality growth, promote economic and social development, and achieve prosperity of the Asia Pacific and beyond. She further highlighted some activities in the PPSTI which conducted in 2016. The activities also include the joint events with other working group, particularly on Human Resource Development Working Group (HRDWG). PPSTI considers as a young working group and therefore it needs continuous input and independent assessment. “The reform of PPSTI mechanism builds PPSTI more targeted to the goal of APEC,” chair stated. PPSTI received 16 recommendations from SCE that then categorized into three actions, whether they will be further discussed by member economies, implement it or bring them to member economies attention and will see if it is possible to make such adjustment.

The Meeting also discussed new concept notes and listened the results of the completed projects in three sub groups of (i) building science capacity; (ii) promoting enabling environment for innovation; and (iii) enhancing regional science and technology connectivity. There were 23 projects presented in the sub groups meeting.

The next PPSTI meetings will be held in Viet Nam in the SOM 1 (February-March 2017) and SOM 2 (May 2017). The representative from Ministry of Research, Technology and Higher Education (MoRTHE) in this meeting was Ms. Tri Sundari, Head of division for cooperation.


Since 2014, PPSTI initiated joint activities with HRDWG in forms of High Level Panel Dialogue and joint seminar. This year, these two working groups met to identify cross-cutting issues and how to manage and synergy for project execution. It has been identify, there are six cross-fora projects were presented in this session which include (i) virtual academy mobility map (Russia); (ii) APEC guiding principles for research integrity (Australia); (iii) mapping researcher mobility in APEC (Australia); (iv) research on mutual recognition of credits among universities in the APEC region (China); (v) the case for the proposed APEC innovation mobility card (The Philippines); (vi) preparing the youth workforce for a data science future (US).

The winner of 2016 APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (ASPIRE) was also announced in the Day 2 of the Joint PPSTI-HRDWG Session. The topic of 2016 ASPIRE is “Technologies for Food Security” with Dr. Kuang Hua from China came as the winner. She obtained of $25000 USD prize from Wiley and Elsevier, two of the world’s leading publishers of scholarly scientific knowledge. The 2017 ASPIRE will take a topic of New Material Technology.

The representative from (MoRTHE) attended the session was Dr. Widijanto Nugroho, Secretary, Board of Higher Education and Ms. Tri Sundari, Head of division for cooperation. (ts/kskp/viii/2016)