The Ministry of Research, Technology and Higher Education, or Kemenristekdikti, announced the clusterization of Indonesian higher education institutions in 2018, in coincidence with the celebration of the country’s 73rd Independence Day on August 17, 2018.

The ministry announced the results at a news conference held after the independence day celebration at the Indonesian Science Center (Puspiptek), Serpong.

Ministry director general for science and technology institution and higher education, Patdono Suwignjo, said the clusterization was meant to map out Indonesian higher education institutions managed by the ministry. It is hoped that the rankings could be used as a gauge for a sustainable development of higher education institutions, especially in their bid to carry out the three credos called Tridharma.

“The clusterization can also be used as a basis for Kemenristekdikti to improve the quality of higher education institutions in Indonesia and to disseminate information to the public regarding performance of universities in Indonesia,” he said.

The assessment in 2018 has slight differences from the 2017 evaluaiton. On August 17, 2018, the ministry announced the clusterization for non-vocational institutions only, which are universities, institutes and specified schools.

Patdono said the ministry was still developing the method and indicators to analyze performance of vocational schools.

“Once we have found out the method, let’s say in late 2018, suitable for clusterization of vocational schools, we will of course announce it,” said Patdono.

The 2018 clusterization has added one indicator, the innovation performance. Therefore, there are five principal components to gauge the performance of higher education institutions in Indonesia:

a) Human resources quality, which includes percentage of lecturers with doctorate degree, student-to-lecturer ratio and percentage of the amount of head lecturers and professors;

b) Organizational quality, which includes accreditation of institution and study program, the amount of study program that has obtained international accrediation, the amount of international students and cooperation with other higher education institutions;

c) Student activities quality, which includes performance of student affairs;

d) Quality of research and community service, which includes research performance, community service performance and the amount of Scopus-registered scientific publications per lecturer; and

e) innovation quality that assesses innovation performance.

“The addition of new indicators in several principal components will hopefully show the real condition of Indonesian higher education institutions,” Patdono said.

Patdono also explained a very significant change that had been made in this year’s clusterization, the innovation quality. This was made to support the ministry’s program to introduce research results to the industry sector. Technological preparedness and innovation are two of the 12 pillars indicating a nation’s competitiveness.

Moreover, some indicators have been introduced in principal components, like cooperation with other higher education institutions in the organizational component. The improving intercampus cooperation is hoped to expand the network of higher education institutions that can improve their quality, organization-wise and human resource-wise.

The clusterization has five groups of higher education institutions, according to ministry data.

The first cluster consists of 14 higher education institutions. The second cluster has 72 higher education institutions, the third cluster groups 299 institutions, the fourth cluster comprises 1,470 institutions and the fifth cluster has 155 institutions.

These are the non-vocational institutions in the first cluster:
1. The Bandung Institute of Technology (3.57)
2. The Gadjah Mada University (3.54)
3. The Bogor Institute of Agriculture (3.28)
4. The University of Indonesia (3.28)
5. The Diponegoro University (3.12)
6. The November 10th Institute of Technology (3.10)
7. The Airlangga University (3.03)
8. The Hasanuddin University (2.99)
9. The Padjajaran University (2.95)
10. The Andalas University (2.88)
11. The Yogyakarta State University (2.83)
12. The Brawijaya University (2.82)
13. The Indonesian Education University (2.70)
14. The Malang State University (2.61)

Patdono said there was an interesting aspect from the new clusterization system. After the inclusion of innovation component and intercampus cooperation, pedagogical education institutions, or LPTK, could enter the first cluster, such as the Yogyakarta State University, the Indonesian Education University and the Malang State University.

“It can be concluded that the LPTKs have already had innovation and intercampus cooperations,” said Patdono.

For more detail, higher education institutions can check their scores in every component for their internal evaluation. The scores can be accessed at by inserting six digits of codes of each institutions.

During the same occasion, ministry’s secretary general Ainun Na’im announced some achievements of the ministry. Ainun said the ministry’s budget for 2019 would be at Rp 41.2 trillion, an increase from this year’s figure of Rp 40.3 trillion.

Ainun said the budget would be allocated for the increasing quota for Bidik Misi scholarship, revitalization of polytechnics, as well as the increase of state university operational cost, or BOPTN. The budget will also allocated for infrastructure construction, amounts to Rp 1.6 trillion and will be handled by the Public Works and Housing Ministry.

Ainun said the ministry had secured fund injection for the 2018 budget. The fresh money will be used to help rebuild the Mataram University hit by the Lombok earthquakes.

The other achievements, Ainun continued, were the Top 99 public service innovation awards from the Bureaucratic Reform Ministry. First, the Simonev, developed by the ministry, and the PJJ service developed by The Unirvesity of Indonesia.

Also present at the briefing were, ministry’s inspector general Jamal Wiwoho; director general for strenghtening of research and development Muhammad Dimyati; director for quality control Aris Junaidi, minister’s expert staff member overseeing academic affairs Paulina Pannen; minister’s expert staff member overseeing relevance and productivity Agus Puji Prasetyono; Puspiptek chairwoman Sri Setiawati; ministry’s public communication and cooperation bureau head Nada Marsudi; ministry’s planning bureau head Erry Ricardo; ministry’s general affairs and financial bureau Wiwin Darwina, ministry’s human resources bureau head Ari Hendarto; ministry’s bureau of legal and organization head Ani Nuridani; ministry’s director for learning Paristiyanti; ministry’s director for organizational management of science and technology and higher education Totok Prasetyo; director for career and human resources competency Bunyamin Maftuh; secretary of directorate general for strengthening of research and development Prakoso; ministry’s director of facility Sofwan Effendi; and other high ranking officials with the ministry.

Below are the infographics for the 2018 rankings of Indonesia’s best 100 non-vocational higher education institutions:

Klasterisasi-PT-2018-New-01-1-1200x1200 Klasterisasi-PT-2018-15-30-01-1200x1200 Klasterisasi-PT-2018-31-46-01-1200x1200 Klasterisasi-PT-2018-47-62-01-1200x1200 Klasterisasi-PT-2018-63-78-1200x1200 Klasterisasi-PT-2018-79-94-01-1200x1200 Klasterisasi-PT-2018-95-100-01-1200x1200